Day 1 – Welcome Gin!

Yesterday, I headed to the breeder to pick up my Sheltie puppy, Gin! He had just turned 60 days and it was time for me to pick him up. I am worried that he won’t get along with Puffy, but not so much with Moppy. Honestly, I thought Moppy would try to bully the pup!

Gin is a very good boy, he didn’t cry or whine in the car ride home (almost 1.5hrs!), even went to sleep.  When we got home, it was exactly as I expected, Puffy bolted the other direction while Moppy was clueless as to what was happening and what Gin was :P

Since Puffy was thumping (possibly scared) and Gin was whining from seeing the 2 buns running around, I decided to put the buns in my room for the night and close the divider doors. This proved to have worked. Gin pretty much immediately stopped whining and went to sleep. Puffy felt safe and started eating treats and his hay, and did pewppewps! As bunny owners, you know this is extremely important! To make sure your bunny is eating and that poops are also happening. Puffy’s cocopops were normal sized, phew!

Around 3am, Puffy started thumping non-stop for about 30mins. He calmed down a little when I held him, but overall he doesn’t really like this. He didn’t want to stay in bed, just wanted to thump at me. At first, I thought he was scared, but I believe Gin was sleeping, so I wasn’t sure why he suddenly started thumping after 3-4 hours of sleep. As I began to fall asleep again, Puff started thumping again, but this time grunting too! I believe he was angry at me for bringing ANOTHER creature into his kingdom/domain! This is definitely a bunny/Puffy house, not mine :'(

In my sleepy head, I thought, what if I sleep on the floor with Puff and Mop… So, I did. And, surprisingly, it worked! Puff stopped thumping, but jumped all over me. If you know Puff, you know he is the ultimate gentlebun, so this meant he wasn’t happy with me. Nevertheless, he felt better, and didn’t thump until Gin woke up…

Leave a Reply

